I’M GETTING PUBLISHED!

This is pretty much the moment I’ve been waiting for ever since I stapled together my first “book” out of notebook paper and manila folders when I was in kindergarten. A legitimate publisher (HarperCollins) will be putting my words into a book that people can buy at any bookstore in America. I’m kind of freaking out.

Let me break this down for you.

On August 20th, io9 reported on this fantastic contest:

The book is going to be absolutely jam-packed with writers that I idolize: Alan Moore, Mike Mignola, China Mieville, Cherie Priest, and author of two of my favorite books growing up: Mr. Garth Nix. So, emboldened by my success earlier this year with micro-fiction competitions held by HiLoBrow and MassTwitFic, I decided to see if I was really good enough to make the grade and be published in the same books as these titans of fiction.

And then, of course, I pretty much forgot about the whole thing for a couple of weeks. By the time I remembered to enter, there were only a few hours left before the deadline. I didn’t really have a new idea in mind, so I decided to make use of a short piece I had started to flesh out a couple of months ago and never got around to finishing. I cut the essence of the piece down to under 150 words and hit submit. I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best.

Tonight, the winners were announced. Out of over 250 entries, just over 30 were selected.

The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, edited by Ann and Jeff Vandermeer, will be published by HarperCollins in July 2011.

Incidentally, I also just entered another writing contest I’m really excited about. I don’t care about the money. I just want to have my name linked with Bourdain’s. Being able to say I have an essay in his newest book would pretty much be incredible. Check it out via the link below, vote if you like it, or just leave a comment!

5 responses to “I’M GETTING PUBLISHED!

  1. Pingback: Another Win! | Tucker Cummings

  2. Pingback: Another Win! « 12 Novels in 365 Days

  3. Michael Erin Strong

    Hey: Congrats! I know how difficult it is to win these contests, so I’m super excited for you. I hope your success continues on this killer streak!

  4. Pingback: Pre-Order Your Copy Now! | Tucker Cummings

  5. Pingback: Lambshead Update « 12 Novels in 365 Days

Leave a Reply

